Aunt Life · Madie · Memories · Rosie · Uncategorized

Growing up

Growing up is probably the hardest part about being an aunt, and I’m not just talking about the kids either. Although they have changed so much over the years, so have I. It’s so easy to notice the changes as your nieces and nephew learn to crawl, walk, and talk. But it is much harder to recognize the changes within yourself. Sure maybe you have noticed a few pounds come or go but have you noticed that your not the same you as before becoming an aunt.

I find myself noticing it at the strangest moments. I am no longer the teenager trying so hard to make everyone happy and putting myself last,  I no longer find myself needing to be as far away as possible from my parents. I have realized that over the years of caring for my nieces and nephew and figuring out how to take care of them, I have learned how to take care of myself. Once i realized that i have to make myself happy instead of worrying about everyone else, it changed my life. Since the birth of my first niece, four and a half years ago, I have got my license, my GED, enrolled in college, and married the man of my dreams.

Noticing the little hands and feet grow can sometimes be heartbreaking and you might think that you are losing your baby and it’s the same when you notice the changes within yourself. But as long as your children and you are happy with the changes and are headed towards bigger and better things, embrace the change.

And just to show a little change

 

Age 1 and a half: Do you wanna build a snowman

Age 4 and a half: Do you wanna build a snowman

 

Madie: A newborn and age 4

Marco age 1 and age 2 and a half

Rosie age 1 and 1 and a half

Leave a Reply

