Aunt Life · Rosie

Not All Fun and Games

Being an Aunt is no where near as hard as being a parent. Being an Aunt, I get to choose when and how often I get to see my nieces and nephew. But even then it is not all fun and games all the time. 

One of my sisters is out of state for work and I volunteered to watch my niece Rosie during this time. She left Saturday morning and the first and even the second day were great. She went to bed at Eight and was up by Nine the next morning. She played hard and was enjoying her time. Me and my Fiance were enjoying our time with her. But come early Wednesday morning we were awakened at one by the crying of my niece and the sounds of vomiting. She had covered her bed and herself in puke. We rushed to get her bed cleaned out and get her cleaned up too but as soon as we did, it happened again. We were up until almost Five, back and forth with her. We were all exhausted.

Once we got her asleep, we crawled back into bed to try and rest up. When we got up a few hours later my other niece had apparently come down with the same bug and so had her brother. It was just a house full of sick babies. It was a very long and tiring day. Thankfully it was just a 24 hour stomach bug and they felt much better the next day. But I was definitely not prepared for that. 

Being an Aunt has its good and bad days. It could be sick days, grumpy days, and some days you just want to pull your hair out but there will always be better days that follow. And no matter what you gotta love them. I always try to remember  that no matter how frustrating it can be they are just kids and they will only get to that little once.

One thought on “Not All Fun and Games

Leave a Reply

