Aunt Life

Becoming an Aunt

Everyone tells you when you have a baby it changes your life. They tell you how you are always going to put the baby’s needs above your own. As i became older I knew that when I decided to be a mom, I would put my children first. But nobody warned me about becoming an Aunt.

When my oldest sister came home to announce to us that she was expecting, everyone had advice for her. Prenatal care, eating healthy, giving birth, naming the baby, what kind of parent to be, and everything in between. She had every parenting book we could get our hands on. There was definitely not a shortage in advice when it came to being a parent. I know reading every parenting book in the world cannot prepare you for what is in store after giving birth but at least she had some warning.

Me on the other hand had no warning. No way to prepare. Nobody comes up and gives advice on how to be an aunt or what to expect mentally and emotionally. At 17, I had no clue what I was in for. Unaware of everything that was going to happen to me after meeting my niece. I was the first aunt to hold her and from the moment I laid eyes on her I was in love. She was perfect. Even her little cry was perfect. I never knew how much you could love a single person until I say her. From that moment my life changed. I would do anything to make her happy. All my decisions where based around her. My little Madie was perfect.

Madie is now 4 and so much has changed but i am still so very much in love with her. She is now a big sister to a rambunctious little boy named Marco. They also have a little cousin named Rosie and another little cousin named Jack on the way. They are all little handfuls but they make life interesting. I love all my nieces and nephews. As crazy as my life is with all the little hands and feet running around, I would not change any of it.

 

Leave a Reply

